User Name  Password
Title: Methods for Grounding Bridge
Hop to: 
Views:1038     
New Topic New Poll
<<Previous ThreadNext Thread>>
Page 1 / 1    
AuthorComment
724SP
 Author    



Rank:none
Score: 2
Posts: 2
From: USA
Registered: 10/09/2007
Time spent: 0 hours

(Date Posted:12/06/2007 13:53:25)
Share to: Facebook Twitter MSN linkedin google yahoo

I have a '52 Re-Issue with a Callaham Vintage compensated bridge on it.  I just replaced the bridge PU with a Harmonic Design P-90 (fits in the standard bridge mounting hole).  The Harmonic Design P90 does not have a metal plate on it, and the bridge of my Tele is not currently grounded.  It does hum (duh!), and through reading many posts on similar subjects here, I have found that adding a temporary ground wire from the bridge to ground solves the problem.  It was a bit funny as it was not the strings that were humming (as I would have guessed), but just a constant noise threshold that went away as soon as I touched anywhere on the control plate (but not the strings or bridge).  Now, for my question;

 

I want to permanently ground the bridge, but I'm not crazy about the idea of seating the ground wire underneath the bridge.  It just seems like this is contrary to the idea of keeping as much contact between the bridge and the body of the guitar as possible.  Can I install a ground wire from one of the pick-up screws for the P90 back to the common ground on the tone pot?  These screws are in full contact with the bridge, and then I wouldn't need to have wire between my bridge and the body of the guitar.  Also, the P90 has adjustable pole pieces, so I'm not changing the height of the PU anymore with the mounting screws.  Or, can I simply solder a ground wire to the back of the bridge and run to common ground?  Not sure about how good the actual solder connection would be (that bridge is a big heat sink and I'm concerned about how good the solder connection would be).  Anyway, looking forward to hearing your thoughts.  Thanks!

usertype:3
Chorks
Share to: Facebook Twitter MSN linkedin google yahoo 1# 



Rank:none
Score:673
Posts:673
From: USA
Registered:08/12/2002
Time spent: 6433 hours

RE:Methods for Grounding Bridge
(Date Posted:12/06/2007 15:15:17)

Well, 724SP, I believe your post is the first REAL Tele-related post since our forum was screwed up by Aimoo!!! Congratulations! ;-)

I have (and have had in the past) a number of Tele's grounded underneath the bridge plate. A carefully drilled hole in the body from the top right of where the bridge sits as you look down on it from the bottom of the guitar (there may actually already be a hole there) to either the contol cavity or to the pickup cavity under the bridge. Leave a good inch or so of the braid (and only the braid...make sure that the insulation sits in the hole) to sit under the bridge and spread out the strands of wire a bit so that they're flatter and wider. Once you screw the bridge back down, the pressure will definitely hold the wires in place...trust me, you won't need solder. If you're worried about contact with the bridge, you might consider scraping or Dremeling the bottom of the bridge plate slightly where the wires hit. You should be good to go...

I hope this helps...good luck!

usertype:1 tt= 0
724SP
Share to: Facebook Twitter MSN linkedin google yahoo 2# 



Rank:none
Score:2
Posts:2
From: USA
Registered:10/09/2007
Time spent: 0 hours

RE:Methods for Grounding Bridge
(Date Posted:12/06/2007 16:03:39)

Thanks for the quick reply!  This seems to be the easiest way to go about grounding the bridge, so I'll give it a try.  Appreciate the help...

usertype:3 tt= 0
<<Previous ThreadNext Thread>>
Page 1 / 1    
New Topic New Poll
Sign Up | Create | About Us | SiteMap | Features | Forums | Show Off | Faq | Help
Copyright © 2000-2018 Aimoo Free Forum All rights reserved.

Get cheapest China Wholesale,  China Wholesale Supplier,  SilkChain 丝链to be a retailer is easy now.
LUFFY LUFFY LUFFY
LUFFY LUFFY LUFFY LUFFY LUFFY LUFFY